top of page
Search
  • wellnesshiking

Welcome to Wellness Hiking

What is Wellness Hiking well its a scheme i have set up to encourage others to get outdoors and improve their wellness.

Getting outdoors is proven not only to improve your physical health, but it is also proven to improve your mental health, by reducing stress & anxiety, lifts peoples mood, improves sleep quality, boosts self confidence & self esteem and elevates relaxation levels.

We are all hearing horrible stories of relating to mental health in the press lately and the majority of it doesn’t make the press. I have been suffering with PTSD and was off work for a period of time I decided one day I would drive to the Brecon Beacons and climb Pen-Y-Fan via Corn Du. I was walking up Corn Du and started getting the negative side of my head going saying you can’t do this just turn round and go home. I just put my head down and took one step at a time and I am glad I did. The buzz I got from completing the climb to the top was something I have not felt in a long time. I felt positive and felt good for a few days after knowing I hadn’t given in and the views on the clear day was something else. If I can feel that then you can too.

Being based in the South West of England we struggle not having mountains but a short drive to Wales or we have to glorious moorland in Exmoor and Dartmoor to discover and the South West Coastal Path so there is no excuse to get outdoors. I will be sharing walks that I go on and also invite others to come along too. If your struggling you be with like minded people so if you want to share and talk things through you’ll have an ear to listen and help where we can.

Also I would welcome you to share your adventures to help inspire others too, you can do this through the facebook page.

I will blog in the coming months about the walks I go on sharing the pictures and directions so you can do it too. I will also talk about equipment, hiking and walking topics.

If you enjoy the outdoors why not give me a follow and enjoy the journey together.

1 view0 comments

Kommentare


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page